Sarah Grace Exclusive: Homemade Ice Cream

Ice cream is my favorite hobby (eating and making it). I have enjoyed making it for over three years since I received the greatest gift of all time, the Cuisinart Ice Cream Maker. Over time I have tried countless recipes including peanut butter cup, cookies and cream, strawberry, eggnog, pumpkin, and my favorite, mint chocolate chip. Recently, I tried a new recipe that excluded all dairy products. It’s called Matcha Mint Cookie Ice Cream, and I originally found it here. It exceeded my expectations of ice cream that did not contain any milk. I am all about health and eating right, but when it comes to ice cream, those morals are typically thrown out the window for me as I use heavy creams and thick creamy custard bases. Matcha is essentially condensed, powdered green tea. I truly enjoyed trying out this new recipe and wowing my family when I told them the ingredients.

IMG_7417

IMG_7421         IMG_1551IMG_1553

Ingredients:

  • 2 (13.5 oz) cans coconut milk
  • ½ cup pure maple syrup
  • 2 teaspoons mint extract (I used peppermint)
  • 1 teaspoon matcha powder
  • 2 cups crushed Newman-O’s Hint O’ Mint cookies

Directions:

  • In a blender, add the coconut milk, maple syrup, mint extract, and matcha powder until well blended.
  • Pour the mixture into a bowl and allow the mixture to chill in the refrigerator or an ice bath for two hours.
  • Pour ice cream base in an ice cream maker for about 15-17 minutes. About 3 minutes before the ice cream in finished, add the crushed cookies.

*Since this recipe does not contain dairy, after a few days in the freezer it becomes like ice. I would suggest making it the day you serve it.

Leave a Reply

